Faculty Promotions for 2020

Congratulations to the 27 Department of Medicine faculty who were approved for promotion this year. Their new ranks went into effect on July 1, 2020. 

Clinical Track

Associate Professor

Peter Gill, MD, Hospital Medicine

Joseph Holt, MD, Hospital Medicine

Kraig Kumfer, MD, PhD, Hospital Medicine

Muhammad Shahzeb Munir, MD, Hospital Medicine

Josh Phillips, MD, Hospital Medicine

Parag Tipnis, MD, Cardiovascular Medicine


Anurag Soni, MD, Hospital Medicine

Clinical track faculty listed from left to right.

Peter Gill, MDJoseph Halt, MDKraig Kumfer, MD

Muhammad Shahzeb Munir, MDJosh Phillips, MDParag Tipnis, MDAnurag Soni, MD

CHS Track

Associate Professor

Freddy Caldera, DO, Gastroenterology and Hepatology

Kurt Jacobson, MD, Cardiovascular Medicine

Sara Johnson, MD, Hematology, Medical Oncology and Palliative Care

Christos Kyriakopoulos, MD, Hematology, Medical Oncology and Palliative Care

Miguel Leal, MD, FACC, FHRS, Cardiovascular Medicine

Carol Mitchell, PhD, Cardiovascular Medicine

Mariah Quinn, MD, MPH, General Internal Medicine

John Rice, MD, Gastroenterology and Hepatology

Jeannina Smith, MD, Infectious Disease


Toby Campbell, MD, MS, Hematology, Medical Oncology and Palliative Care

David Feldstein, MD, General Internal Medicine

CHS track faculty listed from left to right.

Freddy Caldera, DOKurt Jacobson, MDSara Johnson, MDChristos Kyriakopoulos, MDMiguel Leal, MD, FACC, FHRS

Carol Mitchell, PhDMariah Quinn, MD, MPHJohn Rice, MDJeannina Smith, MDToby Campbell, MD, MSDavid Feldstein, MD

Tenure Track

Associate Professor

Dudley Lamming, PhD, Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism

Jeniel Nett, MD, PhD, Infectious Disease

Ozioma Okonkwo, PhD, Geriatrics and Gerontology

Miriam Shelef, MD, PhD, Rheumatology

Matthew Churpek, MD, MPH, PhD, Allergy, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine


Mark Burkard, MD, PhD, Hematology, Medical Oncology and Palliative Care

Karen Hansen, MD, MS, Rheumatology

Danielle McCarthy, PhD, General Internal Medicine

John Sheehan, MD, Hematology, Medical Oncology and Palliative Care

Tenure track faculty listed from left to right.

Dudley Lamming, PhDJeniel Nett, MD, PhDOzioma Okonkwo, PhDMiriam Shelef, MD, PHD

Matthew Churpek, MD, MPH, PhDMark Burkard, MD, PHDKaren Hansen, MD, MSDanielle McCarthy, PhDJohn Sheehan, MD